Melt in Your Mouth Pumpkin Cookies, or My New Favorite Cookies

Hello and happy Fall! Does anyone else have the urge to make (and/or eat!) lots of pumpkin treats now that the air is crisp and the leaves are changing color? I bought my first can of pumpkin of the season a few weeks ago and I’m glad to share my favorite new-to-me pumpkin recipe.

Do you remember those other cookies, the ones I described as the best I ever made? You know how I said that I brought them to a party and a guest I never met said that I should quit my job and make them full time? Well at that party, I only really had eyes for another cookie. That cookie is pillow-soft, has a mellow pumpkin flavor with a subtle spice and delicious cream cheese frosting. Luckily, I found the recipe online!

IMG_1316

These melt-in-your mouth pumpkin cookies are fantastic- they are soft and the cream cheese frosting is the icing on the cake. They have classic fall flavors and you can even layer them on top of each other after the frosting sets in the fridge!

IMG_1315

Enjoy!

I made half of the recipe below and it yielded ~40 cookies sized like those in the pictures above.

Melt in Your Mouth Pumpkin Cookies

Yield: ~80 cookies

Ingredients

    • 2 cups butter, softened
    • 2 cups granulated sugar
    • 2 teaspoons baking powder
    • 2 teaspoons baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
    • 2 eggs
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla
    • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin
    • 4 cups all-purpose flour
Cream Cheese Frosting:
  • 1/2 cup butter, slightly softened
  • 1 (8-oz) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 lb powdered sugar (about 3 3/4 cups)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ground cinnamon sprinkled on top (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, beat 2 cups butter with an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Beat until combined, scraping bowl occasionally. Add eggs and 2 teaspoons vanilla; beat until combined. Beat in pumpkin. Add the flour slowly until combined. Dough will be very wet.
  2. Drop dough by the tablespoon onto parchment lined sheets. Bake in the preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes or until tops are set. Transfer cookies to a wire rack; let cool.
  3. For the frosting: Beat all of the ingredients until soft and whipped. Frost cooled cookies and sprinkle with cinnamon.
One thought on “Melt in Your Mouth Pumpkin Cookies, or My New Favorite Cookies

Leave a Reply

